Skip to content

E90 stills camera vindicated… albeit after much tweaking.

July 23, 2007

Following on from my last post about the E90 camera’s photo reproduction, I seem to have found a decent mix of settings adjustments for indoor shots. The video camera is amazing for a phone device. But the stills camera has been bugging me till now.

I happened to be in the bathroom when I realized the tubelit uneven low-light conditions would be a nice challenge for taking some close up shots especially where flash was needed. So I took a few pictures of the drain cover on the floor:

All settings on default (Beware Ye Ole Nasty Blue Hue!):

07222007143.jpg

White Balance set to Flourescent (Much better colour, but still looking a little washed out):

07222007144.jpg

Decreased  Exposure Compensation by -1.0, and increased Contrast (Much better definition and colours actually match my bathroom tiles):

07222007145.jpg

Then I took this shot of my thumb in the same conditions.

07222007142.jpg

The colours came out really well. And thats the same drain cover you can see in the background. The E90, with ideal settings, picked up those 5 or 6 extremely fine hairs just below my knuckle, which I would have to strain to see with the naked eye. It also caught the contrast and ridges of the skin structure really well. You can also see various shades of pink on my thumbnail, and the bluish veins on the index finger standing out from the colour of the skin. Not bad at all for a camera in what is essentially a business communicator device 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2007 6:14 pm

    Excellents tests! Thank you for doing these this – looking forward to more . . .

  2. rezanat0r permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:15 pm

    @James: Thanks, and you’re very welcome!

  3. dids permalink
    September 6, 2007 6:35 am

    Hmm, I’m wondering how you got so sharp close-up pictures, since I’ve been having trouble with those.

    When the autofocus focuses on something, it basically finds the right focus and the image is sharp, but when I take the photo (or immediately after the autofocus ends) it gets back to blurry and very out of focus.

  4. rezanat0r permalink
    September 6, 2007 12:16 pm

    @dids: are you using Macro mode for close ups?

  5. dids permalink
    September 10, 2007 5:03 am

    Ah, that could be it. The interface language is set to finnish, so I’m guessing that they’re using a different name for the “macro mode”. But thank you rezanat0r, I think I’ll find it. 🙂

  6. Dids permalink
    October 25, 2007 11:30 am

    Actually, I’m not positive the “macro” option is just not there. Under which option should it be?

    I’ve tried browsing through every single option without getting good focus. :/

  7. rezanat0r permalink
    October 25, 2007 4:20 pm

    @Dids: Its called ‘Close up’ mode under scene modes. Choose ‘Scene Modes’ (icon with the letter ‘A’) from the main camera view window, then select ‘Close-Up Mode’, which lets you take macro shots from as close as 10 cm.

    Hope this helps!

Trackbacks

  1. The Nokia E90 as movie player and camera

Leave a comment