Skip to content

Widescreen DVD converted perfectly for the E90’s widescreen display

July 21, 2007

Have a look at this clip of Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith. Whether you love or hate the E90, you simply cannot tell me you are not impressed by its movie playing prowess.

[blip.tv ?posts_id=316021&dest=-1]

20 Comments leave one →
  1. isaac permalink
    July 22, 2007 9:44 pm

    So how were you able to convert the movie perfectly without any problems, like for example audio an video out of sync or pixelation?? What were the steps taken to have such a great outcome?

  2. rezanat0r permalink
    July 22, 2007 11:42 pm

    @isaac: thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    the great outcome, as you put it, is the result of the excellent people of the forums at http://www.my-symbian.com

    the generally accepted ideal program for this seems to be SUPER, which is freely available here [http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER], using these settings:

    For video at 800×352 pixels,
    GENERAL
    MPEG-4
    ISO 14496-1 version 2
    Bit rate: 1835 Kbps
    Stream size: 44.2KiB

    VIDEO
    Bit rate: 1493 Kbps
    Aspect: 2.35
    Frame rate: 24.493 fps
    Resolution: 8 bits
    Interlace: Progressive
    Writing library: XviD0046

    AUDIO
    CODEC: AAC Low Complexity
    Bit rate: 342 Kbps
    Bit rate mode: VBR
    2 channels
    48Khz
    Resolution: 16 bits

    if youre interested in joining the discussion, the link for the thread is:
    http://my-symbian.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32623&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

  3. July 24, 2007 9:36 am

    Hi, I’m VERY impressed with the video. Nvr knew my E90 could do that. LOL.
    Great site btw, I linked it from eseries. I’ve been looking for an E90 blog too, and this is one great find! Esp for themes and apps, there aren’t that many around.
    Keep it up!

    I’m doing my own review of E90 too. Soon to post up.
    Can I link you to my site though? Do drop a note.

    Thanks!

    d3xlabs

  4. July 24, 2007 9:37 am

    Btw, what format did u use for the movies? Saw a Halo 3 trailer on ur photos there.
    I’m gonna try download the app from the site u mentioned.

    Thanks again!

  5. rezanat0r permalink
    July 24, 2007 1:38 pm

    @d3xlabs: thank for the encouragement! Youre most welcome to link to me, and if you look at that my-symbian thread for the video encoding you will find many more sample videos, including the halo 3 trailer. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. July 24, 2007 4:19 pm

    Very nice !!! What sort of program do you use for converting ? I love my E90 ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. July 24, 2007 5:06 pm

    instead of pressing the menu to go full screen, just press the button 2, it will go straight to full screen.

    I have been experimenting with the e90 video encoding since February, and the best program to do that is Quicktime Pro mp4 settings.

    Good site

  8. July 24, 2007 5:25 pm

    Hi rezanat0r, thanks for the tips. I hv fallen in love (again) with my E90. The videos are awesome!!!! Downloaded the other clips as well. Simply breathtaking I have to say.
    I’ve linked you too.
    Keep up the great posts.

  9. rezanat0r permalink
    July 24, 2007 5:45 pm

    @michal: the program is called ‘Super’ and is availablr from this site: http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER

    @P: yes, I discovered that after shooting that clip ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for pointing it out though, and for your compliments. do you have any QT encoded video samples I can look at? it would be interesting to do comparative encoding.

    @d3xlabs: just visited your site for the first time- good stuff! got you on my blogroll.

  10. stracenska permalink
    July 25, 2007 8:25 am

    I am confused as to why you say “HD DVD converted” for a clip of a movie that is not out on hd-dvd… great site btw.

  11. July 25, 2007 2:35 pm

    hi rezanat0r, thanks! ITs good to be in same like minded company. =p
    Just soaking in all I can on E90 at the moment. Convinced many others to take that leap of faith in it, so far, all no regrets. LOL.
    I’ve asked em to refer to your site too.
    Keep in touch!

  12. shien permalink
    July 25, 2007 2:55 pm

    VERY GOOD

  13. rezanat0r permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:22 pm

    @stracenska: oops! you are correct, my apologies – i’ve changed it accordingly. i think in my excitement i completely overlooked that fact, assuming the widescreen edition was HD as well ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for pointing that out!

    @shien: THANK YOU ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. shien permalink
    July 28, 2007 12:14 am

    hi rezanator
    tired to use super under vista bt it seems i stil cant edit the video. need some guide from you if possible cos my setting don t seem to hav the setting u ask us to set

  15. rezanat0r permalink
    July 28, 2007 3:27 pm

    hi shien,
    I personally didnt encode the star wars video clip, as it was done by a member of the forum i indicated under the settings i posted in the comments above. those settings are from that person, and if you read around in that thread you will get many ideas for encoding videos, other than those settings with Super. My-Symbian.com is a great forum with a LOT of helpful insights and ideas, and i recommend you sign up and be a part of the community – its where I get a lot of my symbian-related info from ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Olivier permalink
    August 9, 2007 11:20 am

    Hi,

    Excuse my poor english i’m french:)
    I was so pleased to get the super software to put my best dvd on my nokia e90.
    But i can’t see one of the setting you talk about.
    I have no ratio 2.35, and i can’t find any of the others settings.
    I mean i can change default settings but i can’t find those you mentionned.
    If you can help it wiil be nice.

    Thanks

  17. Harry permalink
    August 14, 2007 10:30 am

    The free converter of Super is a greatful idea. But I ask rezanaOr, how do you start zhe program, when you have made all settings. I didยดnt find รก start butom.

    best Regards Harry

  18. Dids permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:02 am

    Just FYI, MediaCoder seems to be the best bet for video encoding for the E90 at the moment. Google for ‘mediacoder e90’ and you should be able to find the preset file (basically a settings template file) for the E90.

    Simply yet effective. Oh and the program is free and supports tons of formats. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. 3ertha permalink
    February 18, 2008 10:32 pm

    ttttttttttthhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaannnnnnnnkkkkksssssss

  20. March 25, 2008 2:10 pm

    FFMPEG can do that for free:

    ffmpeg -i “paris.mpg” -f psp -r 24.493 -s 800×352 -b 11944 -ar 24000 -ab 2736 “paris.mp4”

Leave a Reply

