Skip to content

New firmware pt. 2

October 31, 2007

The latest firmware for the E90 – version 7.40.1.2 – is now being rolled out on Nokia Software Update. Still a few regions not included, such as mine which is the Middle Eastern Mocca (0544406). Since I am extremely impatient about these things (!) I reflashed the code to the generic Euro (0533332) through NSS, and was able to upgrade through the Nokia Software Update app.You can check to see if your code has an upgrade available here.  

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dr Mohammed Meer permalink
    October 31, 2007 7:04 pm

    Great to see that you managed to flash your phone to the lastest version. I also have produc code 0544406 (Arabian version). Problem is that the keyboard layout is different. The 2 button has a @ sign on it instead of the ” sign as with most other versions. I also have Arabic symbols on the keys.

    I tried flashing my phone to another version (South Africa), but the keyboard layout was different and the wrong letters came up when I typed so I flashed back to 0544406.

    Do you have the same keyboard layout, and did the generic Euro version work well? Do you know which other product codes have the same keyboard layout with @ on the 2 key?

    Once again – thanks for a great site.

  2. rezanat0r permalink
    October 31, 2007 7:48 pm

    @MOhammed: hey thanks for reading! The Euro layout is also different from the Arabian one. I bought my phone in Dubai so it has the arabic letters on the keys as well; however I do not speak/use arabic so I have no use for arabic typing. So personally it makes no difference to me how/if the arabic keys are matched or even enabled in the Euro version. I dont know if you use arabic or not…? Other than that, the @ , . ; ; # ? – + keys all have different mapping in the Euro, which is annoying, but i’m putting up with it by just using the Chr key to invoke the Character list box and choosing the required character from there, for now at least. Once the 0544406 gets the new firmware, I’ll flash back to 0544406 and reinstall v7.40.1.2

  3. Dr Mohammed Meer permalink
    November 1, 2007 7:31 am

    Yes, I also got my phone from Dubai. I don’t use Arabic at all – just got the phone there as it was cheaper.
    Unfortunately, I will wait until the firmware is released for 0544406.
    In the meantime, if you manage to come across any other product codes that match this keyboard layout, please let me know.

  4. Anil Sahindokuyucu permalink
    November 4, 2007 12:50 pm

    Hi,

    I have the same problem as I bought my E90 from Dubai (jumbo electronics) as well. I just want to ask, after the upgrade did you notice any improvement or very big changes? As far as know, there is a update on the GPS for quick login to the satellites.

    Especially I have problems with speakers (classic problem) which happened only once and the phone freezes when you try to make Location update during roaming. I don’t know if you have experienced same problems?

    Thanks

  5. rezanat0r permalink
    November 20, 2007 7:14 pm

    @anil: i do find the GPS tremendously faster with AGPS. I never have had any mic or speaker problems with my handset, so I cant comment on that. But the responsiveness overall seems to have improved.

  6. Mohammed Meer permalink
    November 23, 2007 10:14 am

    FW 7.40.1.2 is now available for 0544406.

Leave a Reply

