Skip to content

Noreve case arrives…

September 29, 2007

Finally! I’d been waiting over a month for this beauty to get here. Their standard manufacturing time for the custom-made vintage leather versions is 12-15 days; when I complained about the amount of time it was taking them to ship, they told me they were working on “adjustments” to the fitting of the case, since several people have complained about the poor fit in some of the units they’d shipped out. It appears to have paid off, because the case I received fits perfectly. The finish of the leather (I ordered ‘Dark Vintage’ – sounds more like a good scotch eh?) is nice to look at and even nicer to touch. No plastic on the internal screen or the keyboard, which suits me just fine – as opposed to the awful mess that the Krusell case is. For those of you who prefer an ‘always-on’ case rather than the pouch type, I highly recommend this one. Some pics:


dsc01540.JPG

I’ve seen people complaining about how the Noreve case doesn’t stay on the phone when open, how the screen can’t be tilted more than 110 degrees because the case prevents it etc etc. The case I have stays on quite nicely when the Communicator is open, and the screen tilts all the way back to 180 degrees, while the case  stays on. That said, the case is also extremely easy to remove and put back on, since it holds on to the Communicator using its snug fit. No slip on form, no latches, no elastic running across the front of the keyboard, and no plastic sleeve type thing. It’s perfect:

dsc01553.JPG

dsc01545.JPG

dsc01548.JPG

dsc01547.JPG

dsc01552.JPG

19 Comments leave one →
  1. sajid permalink
    September 29, 2007 9:43 am

    Hi, I have been reading your blog for a while, and bookmarked your RSS feed.
    I like this case quite a bit. Which supplier did you order it from or did you order it direct from the manufacturer?

    Thanks

  2. rezanat0r permalink
    September 29, 2007 9:37 pm

    Hi Sajid,
    Thanks for reading! I ordered it direct from the manufacturer (http://www.noreveusa.com) – and this site is for US, Canada and Mexico orders only. The main site is http://www.noreve.com, which is based in France. I believe they cater to orders from the rest of the world.

  3. Pete McDonnell permalink
    September 30, 2007 5:48 pm

    Doesn’t this case show as out of stock on their site? I’m in Canada and would like to place an order, but every time I try to find this product it comes up as being out of stock (but doesn’t show the actual product page). Do you have a link to the product page?

    I’m using a carrymobile case right now which works, but the plastic over the keyboard is really bad. I cut most of it out after I found it was sticking to the internal display screen protector in humid weather. I think I almost broke the screen one time trying to open it. I had to leave a strip of the plastic over the numbers to keep the case intact. The Noreve case looks like it’ll completely solve this problem – if I can only order it!

    -Pete

  4. rezanat0r permalink
    September 30, 2007 6:44 pm

    Hi Pete,

    You are right – the case seems to have disappeared from the website! I can only see the Tradition pouch case for the E90….. very strange

  5. November 19, 2007 2:01 am

    where can i get hold of one? hmm…

    cos the original holder seems not tat user friendly for me at least. in and out of the case. troublesome. i want one tat is similar if not the same pls…hehe! any other recommendation….

  6. rezanat0r permalink
    November 20, 2007 7:18 pm

    @rod: its pretty strange the Noreve case has disappeared from their site. Krusell makes a similar case if you want to try it out, but it is awfully bulky and badly fitted. Proporta has a similar case but some people have said the magnetic snap in those have interfered with their phone operation – I dont know how accurate this is. PDair also make a similar case as well, and are probably the best of these 3 options. I would have bought a PDair case if I hadnt been swayed by the beautiful leather that only Noreve offers.

  7. Chris permalink
    November 24, 2007 5:22 am

    HI, Yes please i want exactly the same like yours. I will be happy to pay if you can get us one. Mayne you can contact them and we will make a reprder to you and will pay you extra for the effort and help. Please let me know for i have been dying looking for the perfect case for my phone.

    PLEASE HELP US… Get this beauty.. Its teh perfect case.. I will be waiting for your email reply.. thanks..

  8. rezanat0r permalink
    November 24, 2007 5:27 am

    @Chris:sadly the case is no longer available on Noreve’s site, I don’t know why. It seems to have been discontinued for some reason.

  9. Chris permalink
    November 24, 2007 5:41 am

    ok thanks.. i will just email them then.. and I wil ask… by the way, how much do you get it??? Happy thanksgiving..

  10. Chris permalink
    November 24, 2007 6:17 am

    If you plan to sell yours.. let em know.. I will buy it.. heheheh.. seriuosly… thanks…

  11. rezanat0r permalink
    November 24, 2007 10:00 pm

    @Chris: haha…well I’m afraid that’s not going to happen, sorry! But I do wish you the best in finding this case, who knows Noreve may actually bring it back soon… there have been some complaints about the fitting in some units so maybe they are in the process of doing quality checks.

  12. Cindy permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:21 pm

    hey, i just ordered something from noreve too and i was wondering if you got taxed (duty etc.,) for it. thanks.

  13. rezanat0r permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:53 pm

    @Cindy: No, I wasn’t charged tax. I ordered from noreveusa.com and was only charged for the item and shipping.

  14. Chris permalink
    December 6, 2007 12:20 pm

    I ordered case from NOREVECASE but I got the old case. I specifically asked fot the same case you received. BUt unfortunately got the UNMODIFED case. I email them back and ask to get the modified case, same that you received from them. And I am waiting for their reply.

  15. Chris permalink
    December 6, 2007 2:57 pm

    Hi rezanat0r. Will it be possible for you to forward to me the email you received form NOREVE regarding the modification they did for your CASE. I just need it badly. I was ordered case from noreve and told them that they did a MODIFIED case exactly same as yours. Please forward to me on technogeekchris@yahoo.com MANY THANKS – HIGHLY APPRECIATE it. thanks…

  16. rezanat0r permalink
    December 6, 2007 7:36 pm

    @Chris: I dont have that email anymore actually… but even so they didnt expressly state they were sending me a modified case..they just mentioned they have received complaints about certain defective cases only, i.e. not all the original cases are defective. So mine may just have had a custom leather option (as I ordered) delay, I dont really know. How do know you have an older case? Does it not fit right?

  17. chris permalink
    December 8, 2007 4:36 pm

    The OWNER fo NOREVE said that it is very impossible that they released a MODIFIED case for the E90 that you can make the LCD on a 180degrees position – which actually you received the case from them. If I can prove to them that they INDEED gave you a MODIFIED NOREVE case, they will be willing to replace mine same like yours. You have it and I saw it in your IMAGES. I asked for the same case BUT UNFORTUNATELY THEY GIVE ME THE OTEHR CASE – where you are limited to move the LCD to 90degrees postion only. ITS VERY FRUSTRATING for I asked for the same case like yours and they give me the wrong or OLD type of case. If you can help me with this I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT… Thanks…

  18. chris permalink
    December 11, 2007 4:06 pm

    DONT BUY FROM NOREVE… THEY ARE THE WORST PEOPLE TO DEAL WITH. IMAGINE THEY DENY THAT THEY GAVE REZANAT0R a MODIFIED CASE FOR E90. It’s EIRHTER REZANAT0R is LIEING or THEM….. They DIDNT MODIFY ANY CASE TO ANY CUSTOMER. I DIDN’T GET THE CORRECT ITEM I RODERED FROM THEM… NO REPLY TO MY EMAILS…

    “But I do not understand why this reviewer can open case more than 180°.
    He modify something. It is very strange story.” – Michael | Noreve <mmassat@innovacases.com

  19. rezanat0r permalink
    December 11, 2007 5:07 pm

    @Chris: like I told you before, I wasn’t told I would be receiving a modified case. I was told that since there have been complaints (as I wrote in my earlier post here) about the fitting in some units, they were looking into sorting the problem out by making adjustments. No mention of making specifically modified cases was made. It just so happened the case I received fits perfectly. It really is your luck whether you receive a well-fitted case, or a poorly-fitted one. So please calm down, no need to call anyone a liar ok? I dont think Noreve has the best quality checks for the manufacturing process, but that’s another issue. Its possible the custom leather I specially ordered may simply have been better built than the standard mass produced regular cases. Do you follow me? Some of the cases fit well, some of them do not – its your luck what you get.

Leave a Reply

