Skip to content

Video at 40 mph

September 3, 2007

Here is a side-on video compression test of the E90, filmed while driving along the Charles River in Cambridge, Mass. On the opposite side you can see Boston.

Once again, this shows you just how good a phone video cam can be, even under tough shooting conditions. It was shot through an open car window, so there was lots of wind noise. The road was bumpy, hence much movement of the phone all over the place. And I was driving at about 40mph, with the camera side-on so the lens had to pick up a lot of detail in extremely rapid motion.

Let me know what you think!

[blip.tv ?posts_id=368293&dest=-1]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2007 10:11 pm

    yeah, the E90 camera is very nice, i got my e90 before summer holidays and I took very nice videos/pics with it. just one thing taking pictures, you cant trust in the auto mode .. not a big problem anyways

  2. norcalbarney permalink
    September 4, 2007 6:07 pm

    That video quality looks pretty good! Is it able to playback full speed on the phone? I had an N73 that took pretty good video, but it looked choppy on the phone and on a Windows computer. When I played it back on a Mac, it was smooth. I guess Macs have better memory management.

    I was interested that you’d turned the camera 90 degrees sideways to test the compression. Dunno why I’d never heard of that. Keep up the good work, and thanks for explaining why you created the video as such.

    Have you had an N95? I’ve been torn between the E90 and the new N95 US version. I’ve seen videos shot from the “old” N95, and it seemed to have problems with compression and chunking when the scene changed to quickly. I want it to be fast enough to film skateboarding! : )

    Also, I haven’t seen any review with screenshots of the video editing on the E90. I’m wondering if the editing app has been updated to use the w i d e s c r e e n on the E90? I’d love to see some screenshots, if you’re looking for another good blog post.

  3. rezanat0r permalink
    September 5, 2007 2:02 am

    @jox: yes, i completely agree that you cannot trust the auto scene settings at all. but you do get some great results if you play around with the settings some, as i’m sure you’re well aware.

    @norcalbarney: it does play smoothly on the phone. i have used the N95 – bought one in april and just sold it off in fact. the n95 video has slightly less noise in dark conditions, other than that not much difference.

Leave a Reply

