Skip to content

E61i, N95 or E90?

June 22, 2007

I currently own an E61i and an N95. I’m looking to get an E90.

And I honestly cannot decide between the 3 phones. The N95 has superb specs, comparable to the E90 in hardware and superior still in its still and video camera capabilities, but no QWERTY. The E90 has a gorgeous QWERTY and great internal screen but is a serious brick at 210g and pant-unfriendly dimensions. The E61i seems to have both the small, thin size and light weight with QWERTY, but is painstakingly underpowered compared to the other 2 phones.

How about your opinion?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Magnus permalink
    June 25, 2007 10:26 am

    Well, I’ve been using both Nokia N95 and Nokia E61i and I must say that battery life on my Nokia E61i far exceeds the one on the Nokia N95. I’m running Nokia Intellisync all day on my Nokia E61i and it works fine.

    Even though the Nokia E90 is a brick, it still isn’t that much that you can’t get used it. I used the Nokia 9300i for a long time and it wasn’t that much bigger than Nokia 6310i, for example.

  2. rezanat0r permalink
    June 25, 2007 10:44 pm

    @Magnus: you’re absolutely right about E61i having far superior battery life. however, I too had a 9300 for a while, and it was fine but the thing is, it weighed 170g. The E90 is 210g – that adds quite some bulk dont you think? I guess I shouldn’t be complaining – I had an Imate Jasjar for a while and that thing was heavy enough to use as a doorstopper πŸ˜‰

  3. June 26, 2007 2:58 am

    i agree with Magnus and rezanat0r. battery life on the e61i is far better than the n95. q friend of myne had the two phones, and he sold the n95 just because of the battery. its a great phone, but even normal use of the phone will dry empty a complete charge on a single day. on the other side, i believe that you must think what will be the pryor use for your phone, since the n95 and e61i/e90 are at different levels. the n95 is more for the multimedia user who loves audio/video, and does not use the phone for work at all. (so a qwerty keyboard its pretty much underused) on the other hand the e61i/e90 are for the bussiness man, who writes A LOT of email/mms and will gracefully adore and welcome the qwerty keyboard. thats my case. i love the e61i just because of the comfy keyboard. and the big screen. until of course, i stumble on the e90, wich i want for the big screen, qwerty, and the radio -wich i really miss on my e61i- and gps wich is a nice add on. so, i believe you should ask yourself what will the main use you will be given to your phone on a everyday basis, and of course keep a eye on every review you find on the web.

    regards.

    Luis S.

  4. Magnus permalink
    June 26, 2007 10:41 am

    Everyday usage of the phone is of course the main factor one should have in mind when selecting a mobile phone. But again, some are perfectly happy with carrying around a ‘brick’ or a ‘doorstopper’ πŸ™‚ and for me, it doesn’t really bother me though a device is over 210 gr. I once used Nokia 9110 and Nokia 9210 on a regular basis and the size didn’t bother me. But I suspect Nokia will perhaps later this year or in the beginning of the year come out with a slimmer Communicator, just like they did with Nokia 9500 and Nokia 9300.

  5. fredouil permalink
    June 27, 2007 9:09 am

    i am still thinking about buying a E70, hi res, look like a phone, great apps, the only thing missing is the 3.5G but the E90 is just too hummongus.

    will Nokia update its E70 ?

  6. June 27, 2007 12:06 pm

    @magnus:

    yeah, i agree with you magnus. i suspect it will an updated “e90i” but i wonder what would be the improvements to the original one. i cant think of any honestly, since its a all-in-wonder phone. and thus can easily wait for that new incarnation of the original e90 -besides i have never been an early adopter, prefer to wait for full support and resolved bugs- i cant wait to have right now the e90! πŸ˜‰

    regards.

    Luis S.

  7. Dialekt permalink
    July 6, 2007 11:42 pm

    Get the e90. you need it.

    http://howardforums.com/showpost.php?p=9479619&postcount=642

    done/done

  8. rezanat0r permalink
    July 7, 2007 3:24 am

    @Dialekt: ha! you make a very persuasive point, my friend! i think i just may do that…..

    i’m on vacation in Dubai at the moment, and am trying to get one before i get back to Boston.

  9. July 7, 2007 9:03 am

    I’m E61 user from Hong Kong. E90 is superb if you need the video calling or you have to send out photos you just taken.

    If you only interact with others via text and you want to get connected all day long then E61i is the one for you.

  10. July 8, 2007 6:18 pm

    Hi, I’m an E61i-now-E90 owner from Brunei.
    Take it from me, get the E90. In terms of feel and usage, the E90 is totally different. In terms of Symbian OS, its the same. Depending on your usages, the E90 has a better (and bigger) screen, it has a better camera, it is ideal for those with big hands (I almost lost grip of the E61i a couple of time cos it was so slim and the metal matetial used is slippery). the 9500 made me lose faith in Nokia’s communicator series, but the E90 has rekindled my love for Nokia. Take it from me, the E90. or nothing.

  11. July 20, 2007 2:38 am

    Hi,rezanatOr great blog! I am over from http://s60devices.com (formerly e61iblog) I had switched to SE in between as I was very disappointed with Nokia devices for some time but after discovering the Nokia e61 and then Nokia e61i I have become a serious admirer of Nokia once again. Yes, I know Nokia e90 is a superb device but qwerty (I text a lot), wide screen and slim factor are serious factors to consider in Nokia e61i compared to the Nokia e90. I will probably get the Nokia e90 but will wait till the prices drops and never sell my Nokia e61i.
    Good work with your blog, find your blog really neat. Let me know if you are interested to blogroll. Cheers

Trackbacks

  1. La vie est trop dure pour certains » E61FR

Leave a Reply

